I said yes to the dress!!!

I can hardly believe it!! I was definitely not expecting to fall in love with a dress on my first time shopping for one. But I did, and I am so happy!!

I was very overwhelmed walking in. There were rows and rows of dresses, all different shapes, different shades of white – it was crazy to see how many different styles there were. My consultant for the day was trying to ask me questions to narrow down her search, but I was clueless! Thank goodness I brought my sisters and my fiance’s sisters along. They navigated through the aisles together, coming back with a few dresses to start.

It was fun trying everything on. I was  surprised at how comfortable I felt in more than one style – which was only going to make it harder to narrow down my search! I tried on halter, strapless, sweetheart, illusion – I tried on mermaid, ball gown, sheath, a-line – I tried on lace, tulle, heavy beading – I tried it all on! (probably around 30 dresses) It was helpful trying everything on because I could eliminate certain styles or necklines.  I normally don’t particularly like trying on clothes for too long, but I was loving it. I felt like so beautiful in each dress.

At the beginning there were things I liked about each dress, but I just didn’t love the dress as a whole. I was imagining putting all the qualities that I  liked together to create my dream dress. Obviously I couldn’t do that, though. But my family was listening to the things I liked and went on a search for those qualities.

I tried on this beautiful one, and I felt like Belle from Beauty and the Beast. I loved it. I had the alterations lady come by and show us how she would bustle the train. I loved it, but I didn’t have the feeling that it was my dress. The next one I tried on I felt it. I didn’t even have to look in the mirror. It felt so light, which is perfect for dancing (which I will be doing a lot of on my wedding day). It fit me so perfectly. It had a soft a-line bottom, but the top is this beautiful, intricate lace with such a lovely soft pattern. I wish I could show you – but not yet!!

Needless to say, I am so happy and excited. It’s all becoming a reality – tying the knot 10/28/17.

 

 

 

 

I said yes to the dress!!!

Leave a comment